Skip to main content


Fund raising at half way point

A state of minds

The "A State of Minds: The Campaign for West Virginia's University" that began its public phase in 2012 is 90 percent toward the goal of $750 million, with $683 million pledged or donated as of the end of September.

Witt receives award

Dr. Tom Witt has received the Thayne Robinson Award from the Association for University Business and Economic Research (AUBER), a professional association of business and economic research organizations in public and private universities.

The Thayne Robson Award is the highest honor that AUBER awards to an individual for longtime commitment and service to the organization. To earn the award, individuals must be AUBER members for at least 15 years, be center directors, have served on the AUBER board of directors and be economic and public policy leaders in their state.

B&E enrollment numbers show growth

B&E students

The College of Business and Economics is getting bigger.

CONSOL Energy CEO emphasizes adaptation in B&E Distinguished Speaker Series

J. Brett Harvey

J. Brett Harvey, Chairman and CEO of CONSOL Energy, Inc., spoke to a standing-room-only crowd at the Erickson Alumni Center on November 6 as part of the B&E Distinguished Speaker Series. 

Management leader seeks 'efficiency and collegiality'

Dr. Joyce Heames

Dr. Joyce Heames describes her job as chairperson for the Department of Management in mechanical terms. "There are a lot of moving parts to keep aligned," she said.

B&E Marketing students victorious in national Taziki’s Marketing Challenge

A group of top-notch B&E student marketers were awarded a $5,000 prize for their strategic marketing campaign as part of the 2nd Annual Taziki's Marketing Challenge. The final competition, held between the top five teams, took place Nov. 15 at Taziki's headquarters in Birmingham, Ala.

The WVU team, consisting of Corey Zinn, David Haak, Lizzy Howells, Danielle Ferreira and Ryan Gushue, came out on top among 32 teams from major universities in the east and southeast regions of the U.S. In addition to WVU, the qualifying teams were from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, Clemson University, and two teams from last year's reigning champion, Samford University. The University of Arkansas at Little Rock was also announced as a winner, with both teams earning a matching number of points. As a result, each team was awarded the first place prize.

B&E inducts three into West Virginia Business Hall of Fame

2013 Hall of Fame inductees include Wes Bush, John Mork and Mike Ross, pictured with B&E Dean Jose Sartarelli.

Three outstanding business leaders were inducted into the West Virginia Business Hall of Fame at a ceremony held at the Waterfront Place Hotel in Morgantown on Nov. 14.