Skip to main content

Faculty, staff receive awards

Bonnie Anderson, pictured above with Dean Sartarelli, was awarded for 30 years of service. Other longevity awards were presented to Patti Ratliff (20 years), Susan Robison (35 years) and Linda Sypolt (35 years).

Dean Jose Sartarelli called April 9 "a special day" as he presented awards to four outstanding faculty and staff at the annual Dean's Awards of Distinction ceremony in the Mountainlair.

The dean said the recipients had distinguished themselves through their commitment to the College and efforts on behalf of students, the community and West Virginia University.  Karen Donovan, associate dean for academic affairs, said the decision on which individuals would receive the awards was difficult.

Steve Cutright was awarded for Distinction in Outreach.

"This process help me realize how great my colleagues are and how much they contribute," she said. "We had a hard time deciding who should get these awards because they (nominees) were all so good."

Steven Cutright, director of the BrickStreet Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship received the Award of Distinction in Outreach. Donovan said his record since joining the College in 2013 was "truly impressive." He expanded entries into the annual Business Plan Competition from 141 to 235 and also started a competition for state high schools that had more than 100 entrees. Cutright has also found time to travel West Virginia with state officials promoting entrepreneurship, she said.

The Award of Distinction in Teaching went to Megan McBride-Schaupp, teaching instructor in accounting. Donovan said she was given the award for teaching eight courses, three overload courses and excellent feedback from her students. "Megan's untiring efforts and the responses of her students make her an excellent choice for this award," Donovan said.

Roger Congleton received the Award of Distinction in Service-Faculty. His record for serving on the promotion and tenure committee, search committees, academic editorial boards and peer review for scholarly journals was "extraordinary," Donovan said.

Carolyn "Carrie" Wood received the Award of Distinction in Service-Staff. Wood, associate director of executive MBA programs, manages seven cohorts of EMBA students across the state and will start an eighth this fall, which, Donovan said, requires a "strong commitment to the College."

"Carrie is on call 24-7," she said. In fact, Wood was not able to attend because she was in Washington, D.C., for the Executive MBA residency in the nation's capital. Accepting the award on her behalf was her daughter, Melissa, a junior at University High School.
Dean Sartarelli announced two summer research grants, each valued at $10,000 over two summers. Receiving the grants were Harry Turtle, Fred T. Tattersall distinguished chair in finance, and Edward Tomlinson, professor of management.

Additionally, four Dean's Scholars, citing exceptional journal publications, were named during the ceremony. They are: Barbara Apostolou, professor of accounting, whose article appeared in Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory; Christian Schaupp and Richard Dull, whose article appeared in the Journal of Information Systems; Richard Riley, who had articles in Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory and in Issues in Accounting Education; and Edward Tomlinson,whose article will soon appear in Journal of Management.